Lake Rukwa Basin Facts:

Mbeya, Rukwa, Songwe, Katavi, small parts of Tabora and Singida
Total Area:
88,000 km2
25°C to 30°C
Annual rainfall:
1095mm per m2
2.5 million

Permit Application

For legal Water Use, Discharge and Drilling find the official application forms at the Basin office or here.

Go to!

Mission & Vision

To ensure water resources management is strengthened through Integrated Water Resources Management.

Read more

Reports & Studies

Read through our reports and studies and get all necessary information about Lake Rukwa Basin.

All reports

News & Events

Map of Districts in Lake Rukwa Basin:

Lake Rukwa Basin is a fairly large basin which comprises parts of the regions of Mbeya, Rukwa, Katavi, Songwe and small parts of Tabora and Singida
Total Area: 88,000 km2

It is an internal drainage system comprising the lake with a surface area of 2,300 km2. The Basin borders Lake Tanganyika Basin to the West and North, Zambia to the South, Lake Nyasa Basin to the South East and Rufiji River Basin to the East.

Read more

Useful Links:

Ministry of Water and Irrigation Katavi National Park Lake Nyasa Basin
Mbeya Region NEMC Rufiji Basin
Mbeya City Council Uyole Agricultural Research Institute Pangani Basin
Mbeya UWSA Wami-Ruvu Basin